Young Country

About this image

Te Matau o Pohe bridge at night

A fresh and engaging exhibition that brings together 19-century photography and contemporary poetry to offer a new and often surprising view of New Zeland's past.

The images are the work of William Williams, a Railways employee who worked and photographed widely through the country. Kerry Hines has researched Williams’s work and context and written poems to accompany a selection of his photographs to create a body of work that is multi-faceted, immersive, and speculative, inviting reflection on how we envision our history

The exhibition was developed with support from Mahara Gallery, Waikanae and is currently being toured by Exhibition Services- Whangarei Art Museum will be its 8th stop.

Dates & Times

  • Sat, June 24, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, June 25, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, June 26, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, June 27, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, June 28, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, June 29, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, June 30, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, July 01, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, July 02, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, July 03, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, July 04, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, July 05, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, July 06, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, July 07, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, July 08, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, July 09, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, July 10, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, July 11, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, July 12, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, July 13, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, July 14, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, July 15, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, July 16, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, July 17, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, July 18, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, July 19, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, July 20, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, July 21, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, July 22, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, July 23, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, July 24, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, July 25, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, July 26, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, July 27, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, July 28, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, July 29, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, July 30, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, July 31, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, August 01, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, August 02, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, August 03, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, August 04, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, August 05, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, August 06, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, August 07, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, August 08, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, August 09, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, August 10, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, August 11, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, August 12, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, August 13, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, August 14, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, August 15, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, August 16, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, August 17, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, August 18, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, August 19, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, August 20, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)

More information

LocationWhangarei Art Museum, Town Basin, Dent Street, Whangarei
WebsiteVisit Event Website →
Cost No Charge
RestrictionsAll Ages

Venue details

AddressTown Basin, Dent Street
Phone(09) 430 4240
WebsiteVisit Venue Website →
About this Venue

The Art Museum opened in June 1996 in an historical arts and crafts building in beautiful Cafler Park adjacent to the cultural amenities of Forum North Theatre and the conservatory and Fernery.

It is the public gallery of the city and district and custodian of the extensive city art collection. The Museum is also the venue for national touring exhibitions and internally curated exhibitions and public programmes.