Water

About this image

Whangarei Fritter Festival

‘Ma te wai, ka ora tonu ngā mea katoa!’

Through water, all things live! Water gives life to all things!

New Zealand is surrounded by oceans and sea and is home to many rivers and inland waterways. This environmental fact inspired the group exhibition Water, hosted at The Geoff Wilson Gallery, Northtec, Whangarei.

The exhibition features works by twelve, experienced and emergent, New Zealand artists each responding to the notion of water via an image, sound or sensation. Represented are discussions pertaining to the qualities of water albeit; beauty, environmental challenges, cultural discussions or water’s sensual and erotic nature.

Participating artists include: Angela Carter, Benjamin Pittman, Brenda Briant, Denise Batchelor, Emma Smith, Jill Sorensen, Linda Cook, Lydia Anderson, Martha Mitchell, Natalie Robertson, Robert Carter and William Bardebes.

A calendar of events, workshops, lectures and discussions, will accompany the exhibition as Water runs its course through May – June.

Dates & Times

  • Wed, May 23, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, May 25, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, May 30, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, May 31, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, June 01, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, June 06, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, June 06, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, June 07, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, June 08, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, June 13, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, June 14, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, June 15, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, June 20, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, June 21, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, June 22, 2018 (10:00am to 4:00pm)

More information

LocationGeoff Wilson Gallery, NorthTec, 57 Raumanga Valley Road, Whangarei
WebsiteVisit Event Website →
Cost No Charge
RestrictionsAll Ages

Venue details

AddressNorthTec, 57 Raumanga Valley Road
Phone09-470 3805
WebsiteVisit Venue Website →
About this Venue

Located on NorthTec’s Raumanga campus in Whangarei, the Geoff Wilson Gallery is one of Northland’s few purpose-built exhibition spaces. Its annual programme of exhibitions is designed to showcase the work of degree students and tutors alongside that of established artists from throughout New Zealand. The gallery opened in November 2011.