Surf Tails

About this image

Whangarei Fritter Festival

Every surf break has its local line up of characters. Salty sea-dogs on old school ‘logs’, gracefully gliding beach babes, the ‘grom’ squad, and without fail the equally loathed and loved, line up rat: the surfer so excited by the prospect of waves that he takes them from everyone else.

Written and illustrated by Northland artist and self-proclaimed surf rat, Rebecca Moore; Surf Tails delightfully dips into surf politics and the friendships that endure the ocean’s swells. A story inspired by her local break, Ocean Beach, and the weird and wonderful creatures that surf its waves.

Large scale wall installation adapted from the Surf Tails book- get your copy at the Gallery!

Dates & Times

  • Fri, January 18, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, January 19, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, January 20, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, January 21, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, January 22, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, January 23, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, January 24, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, January 25, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, January 26, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, January 27, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, January 28, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, January 29, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, January 30, 2019 (10:00am to 4:00pm)

More information

LocationWhangarei Art Museum, Town Basin, Dent Street, Whangarei
WebsiteVisit Event Website →
Cost No Charge
RestrictionsAll Ages

Venue details

AddressTown Basin, Dent Street
Phone(09) 430 4240
WebsiteVisit Venue Website →
About this Venue

The Art Museum opened in June 1996 in an historical arts and crafts building in beautiful Cafler Park adjacent to the cultural amenities of Forum North Theatre and the conservatory and Fernery.

It is the public gallery of the city and district and custodian of the extensive city art collection. The Museum is also the venue for national touring exhibitions and internally curated exhibitions and public programmes.