A Series Of Sad Women

About this image

Whangarei Fritter Festival

Photographs by Patrick Women.

One day I met a woman who looked sad. I asked her why she looked so sad and she told me a sad story about recent events in her life.

Her story touched me and I asked if I could photograph her face and she said that I could. That was the beginning and inspiration for this exhibition.

I never thought to ask myself how I recognised that it was sadness she was feeling and not unhappiness or depression. On reflection I realised that we are very good at recognising the emotional state of others, we have some inbuilt skill whose mechanism is exact and largely unknown.

We see other’s faces all the time but seldom do we see our own. Do we too, carry our emotions on our faces like a billboard for all to see? I guess we do.

Of all these photos only one is a genuine sad photo.

The others are of women that I asked to look sad so I could photograph them. Although that may seem staged and false, to able to look sad you have to have experienced sadness and being able to recall that emotion is to relive it albeit briefly.

The images are large because I wanted the feeling of sadness in the photos to dominate the exhibition.

Sadness is not unhappiness.

The closest I got to working out the difference between sadness and unhappiness is that sadness comes from losing something that we have and unhappiness comes from not getting something that we want.

Sadness is soft, it wraps around us like a scarf in the winter of our loss. Unhappiness is a large heavy box that we have to drag with us everywhere we go.

Dates & Times

  • Wed, February 20, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, February 22, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, February 23, 2019 (10:00am to 2:00pm)
  • Wed, February 27, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, February 28, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, March 01, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, March 02, 2019 (10:00am to 2:00pm)
  • Wed, March 06, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, March 06, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, March 07, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, March 08, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, March 09, 2019 (10:00am to 2:00pm)
  • Wed, March 13, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, March 14, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, March 15, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, March 16, 2019 (10:00am to 2:00pm)
  • Wed, March 20, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, March 21, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, March 22, 2019 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, March 23, 2019 (10:00am to 2:00pm)

More information

LocationThe Shutter Room, 9 Rust Avenue, Whangarei
WebsiteVisit Event Website →
Cost No Charge
RestrictionsAll Ages

Venue details

Address9 Rust Avenue
Phone09 94306432
WebsiteVisit Venue Website →
About this Venue

The Shutter Room is a photography studio and gallery inside the Old Library Arts Centre. Open to any and all photographers.

Bring your work in! Come see what kind of services we can offer you.